Fri. Jun 21st, 2024

Finnish melodic death metal band Beyond The Hate released a new single “Black Within”

The Finnish melodic death metal band Beyond The Hate is set to release an anticipated debut album Darkest Times on March 8th 2024 via Inverse Records

The third single Black Within is released today with a lyric video. This track features Katri Hiovain-Asikainen from the Numento

LISTEN Black Within on streaming services: 

“Black Within is one of the last songs written for the album. The process of writing it was quite easy, I wrote it in one day. Sometimes it’s easy to write a song when you have a clear vision and you don’t have to spend weeks or months on it. The song is one of the most atmospheric on the album, even a bit “ballad-like”. Already during the composition phase I knew that I had to have a female vocalist for this song and I had a clear candidate right away; Katri Hiovain-Asikainen from the Numento band. Luckily, Katri agreed immediately, because her beautiful voice took the song to another level.

The story of the song is written by our singer Niko. He wrote the lyrics for his own parts of the song and I wrote Katri’s. So far it’s the only song in the band with more than one lyricist. I think we managed to create a good story. The song is beautiful, but the lyrics are dark. It creates a good contrast to the song,” says Jyrki Karhu, the band’s guitarist and the song’s composer/songwriter, about the process of creating the song.”

I was lost for a long time with the lyrics of this song, I had the verses and the chorus ready which I sing myself, but I didn’t really know what the acoustic parts would be. Fortunately, Jyrki stepped in at this point and wrote the missing lyrics, respecting the original idea. Katri then did a really great arrangement and a brilliant vocal performance, elevating this song to the level where it had to be made into one of three singles.” says vocalist Niko Kalinainen
WATCH music video Alone I Die:  

LISTEN the first single ‘The Lighthouse’ on streaming services: 

PRE-SAVE album: 


Beyond The Hate’s beginnings date back to the summer of 2016, when guitarist Kimmo Perälehto and bassist Mikko Monto started writing songs together. Second guitarist Jyrki Karhu joined in early autumn and singer Niko Kalinainen in late 2016. The band was officially founded in 2017, when Tommy Uhtio took over the drumming duties and the first practice sessions were held.

In the beginning, the band’s songs were more straightforward metal but in late 2018, the band started to find their musical direction in melodic death metalsuch, as an good example the single “This Cold Morning” was released in 2019. In 2018 and 2019, the band participated in the Emergenza Finland band competitions, reaching the finals at the both times.

The first taste of the new style came with the 2020 EP “Betrayal Of Time”, which received good reviews and created expectations for the band’s future. – Miika Manninen / Metalliluola 2020: “Beyond the Hate’s name is worth remembering for the future, because you can expect a lot from the next release.”. – The band also participated in the 2022 Tuska-Torstai competition, reaching the semi-finals.

After the songs on the EP, the band focused on writing even more atmospheric and melancholic songs. More orchestral and choir elements were added to the songs, as well as acoustic guitar playing to create a new melodic mood. From this creative process came the twelve-track debut album “Darkest Times”, which will be released in March 2024 via Inverse Records. The album will also feature guest vocalists Katri Hiovain-Asikainen from Numento on “Black Within” and Jaakko Mäntymaa from Marianas Rest on “In Memoriam”.

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Chris Maragoth – “Bury My Remains”

Chris Maragoth is a musician and the creator behind the self-titled musical project from Germany. With a history of exploring...

Dean Cooper – “I’m Alive”

"Bringing back 80s hard rock where it should be". Proudly present the next song from our new album We are...

Cosmic Peace – “Make Amends”

"Make Amends", Cosmic Peace's new single, offers a listener and engaging , well enhanced by more marked grafts that give...

Electric Fury All Around – “Rock Salt”

"Rock Salt" is a song that captures the essence of rock and roll - raw, unapologetic, and full of fire....

Sfregio – “Malmignotta”

Ligurians Sfregio are now an institution of Italian metal, especially if we talk about that metal that loves to mix...