Wed. Apr 17th, 2024

Degenerator (ft. members All Else Fails, ex-Striker) continues its fusion experiment With “Neurotonic” new single

Degenerator is an aggressive musical powerhouse based in Edmonton, Alberta, that combines the genres of post-grunge, stoner rock, and doom into a captivating and relentless fusion. Comprised of two musicians, Barrett Klesko and Jonathan Webster who have already garnered intonation musical acclaim they are demonstrating their musical prowess in their debut album “The Abyssal Throne”. The second single “Neurotonic” takes heavy music fans deep into a unique and intriguing soundscape full of fresh energy and innovation. Klesko comments:

“Loss haunts our hearts. We must cherish our loved ones. Before they are gone. I always strive for stirring emotion, while revealing a glimpse of a mystical hidden depth. This music came from investigations of my connection with both the material and ethereal worlds, and I hope this ignites a similar reflection in others.”

“The Abyssal Throne” captures the spirit of the ’90s and ’00s goth and grunge while infusing fresh energy and innovation. The album takes listeners on a rollercoaster of emotions, navigating intricate and progressive time signatures, and balancing thunderous, distorted riffs with intricate melodies that seamlessly intertwine. Each song becomes an adrenaline-fueled journey, inviting listeners to surrender to the primal depths of their own emotions.

The project began as a trial, with Klesko reaching out to his friend Webster, with whom he had previously played in The Order of Chaos. The album started to take shape as Klesko composed to rough drum tracks provided by Webster. What began as an experiment evolved into something entirely unique, distinct from its source material. It is recommended for fans of Baroness, Torche, Smashing Pumpkins, and Sound Garden.

Watch and listen to the video for “Neurotonic” via its premiere on TheObelisk HERE.

“The Abyssal Throne” is due out November 24, 2023.

Album pre-order –

Previous Video – “Eternalism” at

Track Listing:
1. Eternalism – 3:42
2. Finality – 4:06
3. The Day That Never Comes – 4:39
4. Darkness Prevails – 3:58
5. Neurotonic – 4:46
6. The Children of the Night – 3:59
7. Hiraeth – 4:06
8. The Spiral – 4:13
9. Heart Like a Hole – 4:15
10. For Every Truth – 5:38
11. A Way Out – 3:52
Album Length: 47:14


Degenerator, Edmonton’s aggressive sonic titans, unleash a captivating blend of stoner, sludge, grunge, and goth rock.

Degenerator, the relentless musical force hailing from the underground scene in the city of Edmonton, Alberta, emerges from the depths to deliver a spellbinding sound that resonates with fans of Baroness, Type O Negative, The Smashing Pumpkins, Nirvana and Alice in Chains. With their captivating blend of stoner, sludge, grunge, and a touch of doom, Degenerator sets the stage for an immersive journey through explosive moods, progressive time signatures, and hauntingly unusual vocal melodies.

Driven by a collective passion for pushing the boundaries of music, Degenerator boasts an exceptional lineup featuring members from renowned bands such as Striker, All Else Fails, The Order of Chaos, Tyler Dory Trio, and The Secret Places of the Earth. Their combined expertise and unwavering dedication forge a distinct sonic tapestry that both embraces and reinvents the spirit of goth and grunge from the ’90s and ’00s.

Drawing inspiration from the genre’s most revered figures, Degenerator fearlessly invites listeners into an enigmatic soundscape where raw emotions intertwine with thought-provoking lyrics. Their music reflects the complexities of the human experience, delving into the depths of despair while simultaneously igniting a raging fire within the soul.

From the very first notes, Degenerator launches audiences into a realm where aggression surges and anticipation fills the air. With their unyielding commitment to innovation, they flawlessly navigate intricate and progressive time signatures, resulting in a sonic assault that defies convention. Each song becomes an adrenaline-fueled journey, enticing listeners to surrender to the primal depths of their own emotions.

As they traverse the sonic landscape, Degenerator masterfully balances thunderous, distorted riffs with intricate melodies that seamlessly intertwine. Their music evokes a wide range of emotions, from seething rage to cathartic release, leaving no listener untouched by its commanding power. Fans of ’90s and ’00s goth and industrial rock will find solace in the band’s fusion of familiar elements while being propelled by their fresh and unrelenting approach.

Degenerator’s journey to musical excellence is further underscored by their remarkable accolades. The band’s members have been recipients of prestigious awards, including a JUNO Award for Best Metal Album, a Canadian Music Award for Metal Recording of the Year, Edmonton Music awards, and numerous other industry honors. Their track record of success serves as a testament to their unwavering dedication and artistic brilliance.

Degenerator’s forthcoming release promises to be a revelation for music enthusiasts craving an aggressive and captivating sonic experience. With their untamed creativity, unmatched musicianship, and a proven history of award-winning success, Degenerator is poised to leave an indelible mark on the world of alternative rock.

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Codex Mortis, return with “Tales of Woe,” new song in streaming

Brace yourself for a chilling journey through an album that tells the harrowing story of demonic possession and mind control....

Dust Bolt launches exclusive unplugged version of “Disco Nnection”

Following their latest, much discussed studio album Sound & Fury (released in February 2024 on AFM Records, order HERE), German...

Dario Leoni sign for Ghost Record, debut album scheduled for May

Dario Leoni in the Ghost Record Label roster with the debut album "L'Ultima Offensiva" which is scheduled for release in...

Finnish metal band Ice Exiled released a new single and music video “Civilization Zero”

Finnish metal act Ice Exiled has released the single "Civilization Zero" from their upcoming album. The album is set to...

Kryptos presents furious, new video single of upcoming album “Decimator”

This summer, on July 5, 2024, India's heavy metal powerhouse KRYPTOS strikes back with its devastating, forthcoming studio offering Decimator!...