Sat. Apr 20th, 2024

Torture – “Storm Alert”

This is one album that harkens back to the glory days of thrash, a re-release of an undiscovered thrash album that got lost somewhere in 1989, only to be discovered and re-mixed by Neil Kernon, and re-mastered by Alan Douches.
Strangely enough, this album is no lesser than some of the albums that are regarded as classics in the genre, bringing to mind the work of such bands as Dark Angel, Atrophy, Sacred Reich and early Slayer, the guys know how to play, and the album bursts with great riffs and some impressive lead work.

The usual intro starts off the album, when “Ignominious Slaughter”, the first track, kicks in, hyper fast, aggressive thrash, similar to Demolition Hammer and Protector, the vocals are a harsh half-growl, the new sound is pretty tight, and the playing is top notch. The album wastes no time with short and catchy tracks, second song – “Dwell Into Surreality” is an 11 minute opus which breaks into some great riffs and lead guitar work, the lyrics are admittedly quite silly, but this is the epitome of 80’s thrash.

“Blood Portraits” begins with some acoustic guitars, bringing to mind Sacred Reich’s “Who’s to Blame”, the song continues with a violent, fast thrash assault. “Slay Ride” takes a children’s Christmas song and grinds it to dust, again, quite a long track with plenty of rhythm changes.

This album has everything a classic thrash album should have, fast and technical guitar playing, murderous drum work and acid-like vocals, it’s certainly a shame that no one thought about re-releasing this album before, but I’m grateful that it eventually was, thrash fans cannot afford to miss this.

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Codex Mortis, return with “Tales of Woe,” new song in streaming

Brace yourself for a chilling journey through an album that tells the harrowing story of demonic possession and mind control....

Dust Bolt launches exclusive unplugged version of “Disco Nnection”

Following their latest, much discussed studio album Sound & Fury (released in February 2024 on AFM Records, order HERE), German...

Dario Leoni sign for Ghost Record, debut album scheduled for May

Dario Leoni in the Ghost Record Label roster with the debut album "L'Ultima Offensiva" which is scheduled for release in...

Finnish metal band Ice Exiled released a new single and music video “Civilization Zero”

Finnish metal act Ice Exiled has released the single "Civilization Zero" from their upcoming album. The album is set to...

Kryptos presents furious, new video single of upcoming album “Decimator”

This summer, on July 5, 2024, India's heavy metal powerhouse KRYPTOS strikes back with its devastating, forthcoming studio offering Decimator!...