Mon. Dec 11th, 2023

Throwing Bricks presents their second full-length “The Burden”

Throwing Bricks presents their second full-length ‘The Burden’, which will be released on October 28 2022. Their debut album ‘What Will Be Lost‘ proved that the Utrecht based Throwing Bricks isn’t scared of trying out new sounds and influences to truly create a path of their own. 
The ferocious mix of sludge and hardcore got picked up by Kerrang, Metal Hammer & BBC Radio 1 among other media outlets. More than once, Throwing Bricks was positively mentioned as “not for purists” through various reviews and articles.

Second album ‘The Burden’ pushes this idea even further. Producer Tim de Gieter (Amenra, Doodseskader) helped Throwing Bricks get the most out of their music by experimenting with sounds, song structures and watching weird as hell YouTube videos.

On the 9 tracks featured on The Burden, Throwing Bricks again serve their signature blend of sludge, hardcore and black metal. This time however with a more modern sound, as heard on album opener ‘Bricks of Grace’ for example. Tracks like ‘Hall Of Mirrors’ and first single ‘False Promises’ lean towards a more screamo and post-hardcore sound. Some elements will surely surprise the listeners, such as additional spoken word performances by Utrecht artist Shira van der Wouden. On the haunting ‘Safta’ for example, her compelling delivery and honest writing is a great fit.
Whereas 2020’s ‘What Will Be Lost’ mainly covered dealing with loss, sophomore ‘The Burden’ reveals a slightly more positive view on life. It is about making peace with loss, learning to cope with mental health issues, overcoming negative thoughts and trying to enjoy life in a world that’s been set to fail. These themes are beautifully represented in the albums’ artwork, made by photographer Daantje Bons.
The Burden was recorded & produced at Much Luv Studios by Tim de Gieter and mastered at The Atomic Garden by Jack Shirley. It captures Throwing Bricks at their most emotionally heavy and honest yet.

Jesse Stey – Guitar
Jordi van Putten – Bass
Bart van der Blom – Drums
Marius Prins – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Niels Koster – Vocals

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

LA MENADE – “Reversum”

The female trio called La Menade, from Italy, has been around for more than twenty years proposing its particular alternative...

Leaves’ Eyes announce new album “Myths Of Fate” & premiere music video for “Forged By Fire”

Symphonic metal vikings, LEAVES' EYES, have revealed first details about a new album to be released in 2024 with AFM...

Nova Spei is back with a new edition of their xmas song “Le Père-Noël est une ordure! – Santa Claus is a Garbage!”

Trois-Rivieres, QC's Nova Spei is back with a new edition of their xmas song "Le Père-Noël est une ordure! -...

Glasfold’s debut album “New World” is now available

Nuovo mondo (new world) is now available on all digital platforms.Eleven tracks swinging between the guitar melodies of classic heavy...

Dysmorfic, working on new material for 2024

The experimental grind corers Dysmorfic will enter the Esagono Studio in Rubiera (RE) on Saturday 2 December to record four...