Wed. Feb 28th, 2024

Visionoir – “The Second Coming” – REV

This time Italy gives us a real masterpiece of progressive metal with this “The Second Coming” (Revalve Records-2021) by Visionoir. The ten songs that make up this album are a true demonstration of what to say still interprets this musical genre at its best even in 2022, through an album that demonstrates how many only one band can only dream of.

The watchword in this work is “fantasy”, but fantasy would be of no use if technique and originality were not combined with it. All qualities that Alessandro Sicur has and which are amplified by the other musicians who accompany him in this project. The tendency not to follow a particular genre but to try to incorporate various trends both tending towards experimental rock and extremely interesting metal Visionoir easily classifiable at the same time interesting.

All the songs have something to offer and each song has its own story, because in the track we find elements that cannot be found in the previous one. Surely the mix between electronic and metal is not something absolutely new, but Visionoir manages to make his music unique, throwing one foot in the future but also one in the past and interpreting everything in his own way.

The meticulous arrangement work done with synths, keyboards and even saxophone with jazz player Clarissa Durizzotto is interesting and could reverse the trend, that is to inspire new generations of progressive metal, rather than continuing to talk about the really influences that have taken root in the world of Visionoir. , and songs like “Lost in a Maze,” The Snooping Shadow “” The Vulture Eye “and especially” Horror Vacui “and” Born Like This “are a demonstration of strength of character and great instrumental preparation. he has only released two albums. , it seems that it is much more mature.



  1. Lost in a Maze
  2. The Snooping Shadow
  3. The Vulture Eye
  4. Breathless
  5. Horror Vacui
  6. They Speak by Silences
  7. No More
  8. Born Like This
  9. Silent Sea
  10. The Second Coming

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Lucid Evolution – “The Seed”

This psychedelic groovy wavy tune effortlessly intertwines nostalgic vibes with a forward-looking sonic journey. Embracing a fusion of past and...

False Hydra – “PinkGrapefruit”

"PinkGrapefruit", is a nice proposal, which shows a good technical mastery in the genre to be proposed. Energetic and gritty...

EverTheAltruist – “I’ll Be Damned”

EverTheAltruist is a one man DIY project from Winston-Salem NC. "I'll Be Damned", EverTheAltruist 's new single, give us a...

Kozoria signs with Black Lion Records

French progressive melodic metallers KOZORIA have signed a worldwide deal with Black Lion Records. "We are delighted to welcome the...

Cemetery Moon releases two Raw Black Metal Demos

Raw black metal fanatics have a new source to satisfy their endless lust for sonic blood! Connecticut’s own CEMETERY MOON...