Sat. May 18th, 2024

Dim Mak – “Intercepting Fist” – REV

Let’s start from the beginning. The old school death metal fans should be familiar with the name Ripping Corpse, the first band of the Morbid Angel Erik Rutan. The band broke up in 1993 after releasing one album. Several years later three parts of the five decided to reunite and establish a new band under the name of deadly martial arts Dim Mak.
Intercepting Fist is their second album and creates some kind of a closer when it’s been produced under the hands of their former band mate Erik Rutan, and it’s a kind of a concept album of martial arts as the song titles are: Phoenix Eye Fist, Komodo Whip, and Essence of the Northern Fist.
The music shows a rough blending of Death Metal, Thrash Metal and some elements of Metalcore. The music is a powerful combination of blast speed thrash metal, death metal and some metal core influences. The music is quite technical and counter pointed by the barked vocals. The drummer is great with his cymbal work that fills in the music with a fresh and complex drumming technique, and the guitar solo’ s can sometimes be easily fits in martial arts schools. To name one song to look for: Phoenix Eye Fist.
Looking at the modern standards, Dim Mak isn’t so fitting. But those who cherish the old school death metal will likely wants this album in their cd collection.


  1. Phoenix Eye Fist
  2. Tai Pan Snake Venom
  3. Komodo Whip
  4. Shambling
  5. Mindgate
  6. Den Of The Avalanche Dragon
  7. Interceptor
  8. Climbing Knife Mountain
  9. Nine Head Serpentine Siren
  10. Essence Of The Northern Fists
    Exclusive Bonus Track:
  11. To The Negative Power

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Devilskin unleash riveting cover of HEART’s Classic Hit “Barracuda”

Prepare to be swept away by a tidal wave of raw power and adrenaline as multi-Platinum-selling New Zealand rock icons...

LiveKill, is set to release their highly anticipated album, “Evil Ecstasy”

LiveKill, the Florida-based metal band, is all set to release their highly anticipated album, Evil Ecstasy in 2024. Meanwhile, their...

Rhapsody Of Fire release new album “Challenge The Wind”

Following ‘Kreel's Magic Staff‘, a first single and album harbinger released in 2023, Rhapsody Of Fire have revealed full details about their...

Italian Rock Band Monkey Intrusion announces the release of their debut Album “Pussycats and Monkeymen” (Ghost Record / Distrokid)

Monkey Intrusion are proud to announce the launch of their debut Album ‘Pussycats and Monkeymen’. The 13 tracks work will...

Ballz n All – “46”

Ballz n All are gaining a reputation for being one of the most exciting and in-demand bands in regional NSW.​Led...