Fri. Jun 21st, 2024

Canadian Metalcore Aquila shares vocal playthrough “A City Risen” off new Ep “The Great Fire”

Hamilton, ON, Canada’s AQUILA marked their return in 2022, with their new EP “The Great Fire” unleashed this past June. The EP follows their two 2020 EPs “Valle Mortalitatis”(Feb) and“Jewel of the Empire’s Crown”(July).

Historical buffs for the Roman Empire, the four-track concept record speaks of the Roman Emperor Nero who was known for the killing of the Christian population, and The Great Fire of Rome (Jul 18, 64 AD – Jul 23, 64 AD). This recording is musically the most brutal and progressive material the band has written emphasizing the METAL into METALcore once again.

“We write about Roman events and themes like battles and certain emperors. It was brutal times back then, so the listener gets a little history lesson as well. I write my own twists and spice things up for the story in the song.” adds vocalist Mark Arruda.

Today, in support of the new recording, vocalist Mark Arruda is sharing his vocal playthrough for “A City Risen“. He explains the song in further detail:

“The song is at a slower pace, but hits heavy with many hooks. I think it’s my best vocal performance ever. I used my singing range for this one, not just straight death metal vocals for this one.”

The vocal playthrough can be heard and seen via TheCirclePit

Brutal, heavy, and catchy, Aquila‘s “The Great Fire” offers up a rollercoaster ride of the band’s best material to date. From the opening and explosive title track “The Great Fire” to the “Emperor’s Curse”, the most progressive song AQUILA has ever written, that was inspired by their own tune, “Bound For Glory”, from their 2009 debut album “Imperium”, it’s a track that travels into Tool-like drumming and guitars with a catchy hook at the end of it. After a very brutal beheading and crucifixion of Christians to Nero taking his own life, track 3 “A City Risen” is about what Nero is thinking before he takes his life or even after his death. EP closer, “The Plague of Galen” was written when vocalist Mark Arruda and drummer Mark McGuire reconnected just before the Covid pandemic and felt it was fitting to write a song about a plague that happened in Rome many centuries ago. The song has a melodic death metal feel to it that you can certainly headbang to. The breakdown in the middle is crushing, ending with Iron Maiden-influenced guitar playing.

With all its fury and melodic groove, “The Great Fire” is just the next taster for fans old and new alike, as the band continues writing for a full-length album to be released in the near future. The band adds:

“We want our listeners to experience the emotions on this EP, there are elements to headbang to and elements of anger and sadness as well. Each track is different from one another with a lot of hills and valleys.”

Recommended for fans of Gojira, Lamb of God, Killswitch Engage, and In Flames, AQUILA‘s new EP “The Great Fire”, released on June 30th is available on Spotify, (CD), Apple Music.

Music Video – The Great Fire

Track Listing:
1. The Great Fire – 5:11
2. Emperor’s Curse – 8:15
3. A City Risen – 4:16
4. The Plague of Galen – 6:16
EP Length: 24:00

EP Recording Credits:
• All songs performed by: Aquila
• All songs written by: Aquila
• Produced by: Aquila
• Mixed by: Aquila
• Mastered by: Aquila
• EP Artwork by: Silent Q Design
• EP and Live Band Line Up:
– Mark Arruda – Vocals
– Matt McGuire – Drums
– Anthony Rimac – Guitar
– Tony Medina – Guitar
– Colin Wakil – Bass

About Author

Single Column Posts

Single Column Posts Subtitle

Chris Maragoth – “Bury My Remains”

Chris Maragoth is a musician and the creator behind the self-titled musical project from Germany. With a history of exploring...

Dean Cooper – “I’m Alive”

"Bringing back 80s hard rock where it should be". Proudly present the next song from our new album We are...

Cosmic Peace – “Make Amends”

"Make Amends", Cosmic Peace's new single, offers a listener and engaging , well enhanced by more marked grafts that give...

Electric Fury All Around – “Rock Salt”

"Rock Salt" is a song that captures the essence of rock and roll - raw, unapologetic, and full of fire....

Sfregio – “Malmignotta”

Ligurians Sfregio are now an institution of Italian metal, especially if we talk about that metal that loves to mix...